Sign In

Counter-Terrorism Arrangements

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

In 2002, Commonwealth, State and Territory Leaders signed an Agreement on Australia's National Counter-Terrorism Arrangements

The Agreement formally established a framework for a cooperative partnership between the Commonwealth and the States/Territories to develop and maintain a nation-wide capability to combat terrorism.

Under the Agreement, all Australian governments share responsibility for working together to improve:

  • nation-wide prevention, response, investigation and consequence management arrangements;
  • the legal regime for fighting terrorism in all jurisdictions; and
  • cooperation, coordination and consultation between government agencies.

The Agreement also established the operational mandate for the National Counter-Terrorism Committee (NCTC) with a broad role covering prevention and consequence management issues.  The National Counter-Terrorism Plan (NCTP), which is one of the documents maintained by the Committee, outlines responsibilities, authorities and the mechanisms to prevent, or if they occur, manage, acts of terrorism and their consequences within Australia. 

In 2012 the Agreement was amended to include New Zealand as a full member of the Committee.  The aim was to ensure the closest possible coordination and cooperation regarding matters of bilateral interest on countering terrorism and to encourage closer strategic dialogue.  To reflect the change in membership the Committee is now known as the Australia-New Zealand Counter-Terrorism Committee (ANZCTC).

Western Australia Police and the Department of the Premier and Cabinet represent the State on the Committee. 


Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.