Sign In

Native Title Representative Bodies

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

The function of Native Title Representative Bodies (NTRB) are described in section 203B of the Native Title Act 1993 (Cwlth) (NTA). In general, NTRB's:

  • assist claimants in the preparation of anthropological and historical evidence in support of their claim applications;
  • provide claimants with legal representation e.g. negotiations for an Indigenous Land Use Agreement; and
  • act as mediators between the claimants and the State Government.

For the purposes of claim management, Western Australia is divided into six claim regions. Each of these regions has a federally funded statutory body that is available to assist Aboriginal people in the preparation of their native title claim applications. NTRBs represent the majority of native title claims that fall within their designated regions, however, claimants can choose independent representation.

View a map of native title representative bodies in Australia.

Native Title Representative Bodies in Western Australia

NTRBs are appointed by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C) (formerly FaHCSIA) to cover a region in Australia. The following NTRBs represent the various regions within Western Australia:

Further Information


Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.