Sign In

We are working for Western Australia.

Taskforce Members

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

Ron Alexander (Chair)


Mr Ron Alexander has championed the building of stronger, healthier, happier and safer communities through leadership roles throughout his career. As Director General of the former Department of Sport and Recreation, Mr Alexander was committed to demonstrating the power of sport and recreation to address broader social issues and strengthen community engagement.

He has demonstrated that outcomes can be achieved through collaboration and partnerships across government, with other tiers of government and the community sector. This has included working with the Clontarf Foundation, the Islamic community through the Countering Violent Extremism forum, as well as community-based sport, health, education diversionary and inclusion programs.


Professor Daniel Fatovich (Deputy Chair)
Professor of Emergency Medicine at Royal Perth Hospital, University of Western Australia
Head of the Centre for Clinical Research in Emergency Medicine

As an emergency physician at Royal Perth Hospital Emergency Department, Professor Fatovich has first-hand experience in dealing with methamphetamine affected patients, and understands what hospital staff experience. He has also published a body of research into methamphetamine, including the impact on the health system and a brain imaging study of methamphetamine users.



Professor Colleen Hayward AM
Chair, Alcohol and Other Drugs Advisory Council
Head of Kurongkurl Katitjin (Centre for Indigenous Education and Research), and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Equity and Indigenous, Edith Cowan University

Professor Hayward AM has extensive experience in health, education, employment, training, housing, child protection, and law and justice. She was inducted into the Western Australian Women’s Hall of Fame in 2012. She is a senior Noongar woman with extensive family links throughout the South-West of WA.



Michelle Fyfe APM
Chief Executive Officer, St John of God Ambulance and Former Assistant Commissioner, Judicial Services, Western Australian Police Force

Michelle Fyfe APM served in the WA Police Force for over 30 years and was a member of the National Drug Strategy Committee. Her extensive career in the police service gives her a unique perspective in dealing with the supply side issues of methamphetamine use in WA.



Don Punch MLA
Legislative Assembly, Member for Bunbury

Mr Don Punch MLA has worked in community services and economic development throughout the South-West of WA, and was the CEO of the South West Development Commission. He is also a member of State Parliament’s Community Development and Justice Standing Committee.



Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.