Sign In

Our Executive

Text Size a a a Print Print this page


Mr Smith has been the Deputy Director General since August 2008. Prior to this, he was a member of the Corporate Executive of the Department of Treasury and Finance (DTF), with responsibility for economic policy. Mr Smith was in the DTF in a variety of positions over a 12-year period. In addition, he has over 20 years of experience in the Commonwealth public service, including the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and an overseas posting with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. He has also worked with a private economic consultancy in London. Mr Smith was appointed Acting Director General in August 2016.

DEPUTY DIRECTOR GENERAL: Economic and Deregulation – Ms Lyn Genoni

Ms Genoni joined the Department of the Premier and Cabinet in 1997, and was appointed an Executive Director in 2010.  She has over 30 years of public sector experience, with more than a decade working on State policy priorities with colleagues in the Commonwealth and other states and territories.  Ms Genoni commenced her career in education, and went on to a succession of policy leadership and management roles in a number of government agencies.  She has a wide interest in all areas of public sector policy, and was awarded life membership of the Institute of Public Administration Australia WA in 2007, having served as an elected member of the State Council for 10 years. Ms Genoni was appointed Acting Deputy Director General in August 2016.

DEPUTY DIRECTOR GENERAL: Community and Human Services – Mr Richard May 

Mr May has over 25 years of experience in the State public service in a range of policy, funding, corporate services and ministerial liaison positions in the Disability Services Commission (DSC); senior management experience in the Department of Indigenous Affairs (DIA), primarily in the delivery of services in regional locations; and senior management policy and corporate services experience in the Office of the Public Sector Standards Commissioner. Mr May has also worked on restructures in DSC and DIA, and was seconded to work on the creation of the Department for Child Protection and Department for Communities. He has also held a number of positions in the Department of the Premier and Cabinet and ministerial offices.

Assistant Director General: State Administration and Corporate Support – Ms Kathryn Andrews

Ms Andrews was appointed as the Assistant Director General State Administration and Corporate Support in May 2016. She has over 30 years of public sector experience and has worked in a number of Departments in the corporate support area. She was recruited to the Western Australian public service through the Graduate Program and has a Bachelor of Commerce degree. Ms Andrews was initially appointed to the Department of the Premier and Cabinet in January 1994 in the Human Resource Services Branch (HRSB) and has occupied the positions of Manager, HRSB and Director, State Administration. She is also the Clerk of Executive Council.

Assistant Director General: Office of State Security and Emergency Coordination – Mr Geoff Hay

Mr Hay was appointed to this position in July 2005, following periods in the positions of Assistant Director General, State Administration, and Assistant Director General, Public Sector Management. Mr Hay previously held the position of Assistant Under Treasurer at the Treasury Department. Mr Hay has over 30 years of experience in the public sector and, in addition to the Treasury Department, he has been employed by the Department of Corrective Services and the Fremantle Port Authority.

Executive Director: Economic and Deregulation – Mr Rosh Ireland

Mr Ireland has been a Director in the Cabinet and Policy Division since 2003, providing strategic advice and leadership across many policy areas including approvals, infrastructure, natural resources, energy and the environment. He has science and management qualifications and has previously worked for the Queensland and Australian Governments. 

Executive Director: Land, Approvals and Native Title Unit – Mr Adrian Murphy

Mr Murphy has over 20 years of experience in the resource sector, indigenous affairs and land approvals. He has worked for Commonwealth and State government agencies, as well as in the non-government and private sectors. His experience has primarily been in the areas of strategic policy and systems development, and major project negotiations. Mr Murphy joined the Department of Mines and Petroleum in 2009, transferring to the Department of the Premier and Cabinet at the beginning of 2011.

Executive Director: Whole of Government, Future Directions and Strategic Projects - Mr Robert Kennedy 

Mr Kennedy has worked in public sector agencies for over 20 years in both the State and Commonwealth Governments. Most of this time has been in central agencies in policy and administration roles. He joined the Department in 2003 and was appointed Director, State Administration, in 2008, when he joined the Corporate Executive. Mr Kennedy was appointed Director, Office of the Director General, in 2011; primarily responsible for the Department’s corporate governance functions and supporting the Director General.

Executive Director: Community and Human Services - Ms Jenni Perkins

Ms Perkins joined the Department of the Premier and Cabinet as Acting Executive Director, Community and Human Services in June 2016. She brings to her role over 30 years of experience in social policy and community development, which has included the not-for-profit sector and local and state government. With a degree in social work and a Masters in Public Policy, Ms Perkins has held senior executive positions in the State Government for the past 16 years, and has lead major reform agendas across the disability and community services sectors.

Executive Director: Office of Science – Ms Fiona Roche

Ms Roche commenced as Executive Director within the Office of Science in August 2015. She has a long history of working in the government sector, particularly in central agencies with a policy coordination role. She has worked in senior roles in the Department of the Premier and Cabinet, and her recent background has involved a focus on governance, integrity and diversity. Ms Roche previously occupied the role of the Deputy Commissioner, Integrity Promotion within the Public Sector Commission.

Director: Cabinet Secretariat - Mr Nick Hagley

Mr Hagley commenced as a Senior Parliamentary Officer in 1989, before moving to the Office of the former Minister for Police as Executive Officer in 1995. Returning to the Department, he was appointed Manager of the Parliamentary Services Branch and has also acted as Cabinet Secretary. In 2010, he was appointed Director of the Cabinet Secretariat and also Clerk of Executive Council in May 2011.

Director: State Administration - Ms Angela Boland

Ms Boland has over 27 years of service in the Western Australian Government. She has contributed to Executive leadership and management teams across several agencies. Prior to joining DPC, Ms Boland was a member of the Corporate Executive at the Department of Mines and Petroleum. Ms Boland has managed Ministerial Business and Executive Government in the areas of Agriculture and Food and Environment and Water. She has also held positions in the Office of Racing, Gaming and Liquor.

Director: Finance and Information Services - Mr Gary Meyers

Mr Meyers has over 25 years of experience in the State public service and was recently appointed to the position of Director Finance and Information Services at the Department of Premier and Cabinet. Prior to commencing at the Department in January 2016, Mr Meyers was the Director of Finance and Business Support, and Chief Finance Officer at the Disability Services Commission (DSC). Mr Meyers has also worked at the Department of Treasury and WorkCover, and is a Certified Practicing Accountant.