Skip To Content Skip To Navigation
Text Size a a PrintPrint this page

Office of Science

The Office of Science provides advice to the State Government on science related programs and policy. Key focus areas for the Office of Science include:

  • providing leadership and advice on matters related to science;
  • building the State’s science capacity;
  • playing a key leadership role in coordinating Western Australia's involvement in the Square Kilometre Array;
  • supporting science engagement;
  • recognising excellence in science; and
  • supporting the Chief Scientist of Western Australia.

New blueprint for marine science launched by Premier

The Premier and Science Minister Colin Barnett launched the Blueprint for Marine Science 2050 in front of attendees of the 2015 Western Australian Marine Science Institution Research Conference.
The blueprint identifies what new information will be needed to improve the productivity of WA’s marine industries and enhance protection of the marine environment over the coming decades. 
More than 100 areas needing more research are identified in the blueprint across the fisheries, oil and gas, coastal development, transport and environmental protection sectors.  
The blueprint was independently commissioned by the Western Australian Marine Science Institution and is available at  

Strengthening relationships between research and industry

Premier and Science Minister Colin Barnett has congratulated a group of PhD students completing the first wave of workplace projects through the new iPREP WA program.

iPREP WA comes under the umbrella of Advancing Western Australian Research Education (AWARE) which has brought together the State’s five universities in a unique collaboration which seeks to improve the skills of graduate researchers in the State. In the current round, 17 PhD students were competitively selected to work with five industry partners.

For more information please view the media statement and visit the AWARE website. 

2015 Premier’s Science Awards Applications Open

Premier's Science Awards LogoApplications for the 2015 Premier's Science Awards are now open.

The Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community.

The 2015 Awards are proudly sponsored by Chevron, ExxonMobil and Woodside.

Applications close Monday 18 May 2015 at 10:00am (WST). For more information and to apply visit the Premier’s Science Awards page and view the media statement.

Science on the Swan Conference

The inaugural Science on the Swan Conference will be held in Perth between 21-23 April 2015.

The focus of the conference will be ‘Hot Topics in Life Course and Development’. The conference will showcase  the very best of medical science and health research in Western Australia, and bring together an outstanding international faculty and leading researchers from across Australia.

A number of pre-conference workshops are taking place on Monday 20 April 2015 as part of the extended conference program. Unless specified all workshops are free to attend for conference participants.

  • Workshop: Exercise Medicine Research and Clinical Practice in Cancer (Edith Cowan University).
  • Workshop: Advances in Personalised Medicine (Murdoch University)
  • Workshop: Consumer and Community Participation in Health Research: A Training Workshop for Researchers (NotreDame University)
  • Workshop: Microbiome on the Swan: Foundations and Future Directions (Nedlands Yacht Club, registration fee)

For more information and to register your attendance please visit the Science on the Swan conference website.  


Latest announcements and media statements are featured on the News and media page on this website.

  • Astrofest
  • Professor Alan Robson’s WA Science Hall of Fame citation unveiled
  • Communicate to Inspire - Chief Scientist addresses science communication conference
  • Opportunities for collaboration with Europe in the areas of research, innovation and education
  • Australian Museum Eureka Prizes now open
  • L'Oreal Australia & New Zealand for Women in Science Fellowships


All contents copyright © Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.